The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.

Almost Famous is my absolute favorite movie of all time. There are movies that are better made, more interesting plot, better acting, better directing, etc. etc., but despite all of that, no movie has ever inspired me like Almost Famous did.

My first experience with Almost Famous was in 2002. I was 12. It was the first night my parents let me stay home alone. They got me a pizza and let me rent a movie, and then they went out. I don’t think anyone knew what 7th-grade-Allie was getting into. I can 1000% say that this night, and this movie, changed my life. I always had a particular interest in music and things like that– going to camp my favorite part of packing was making mix tapes– but I didn’t know people could love music and have a career based on their love for music. And that’s one of the most important lessons I learned from Almost Famous— you can find a career in something that you love to do. This movie inspired me to pursue a career in the entertainment industry.

When I was 12 I didn’t understand everything that was going on in the movie– all the sex, drugs, and rock and roll. But I understood the core part of the movie, the part of the movie that really spoke to me. William Miller’s life could be complete shit but he still wanted to write about music. I don’t want to write about music. I love music. And I love writing. But the passion I have for an over-encompassing umbrella of entertainment news and popular culture would make a music journalism career difficult. But Almost Famous didn’t make me want to be a music journalist, it made me want to find something I love and do it. Just find a career and pursue it and love it. And I guess that’s what I’m doing.

To this day I can watch Almost Famous and still be just as inspired by it. I watch William Miller grow up, I watch fights between bands, I watch hearts breaking and hearts mending, and I am still so moved by what is happening on screen that I can’t wait to find something I love as much as William Miller loves writing about music.

So thank you, Cameron Crowe, Patrick Fugit, Kate Hudson, Zooey Deschanel, Billy Crudup, Frances McDormand, etc. for being in the movie that changed my life.

“Never take it seriously, you never get hurt. Never get hurt, you can always have fun. And if you ever get lonely, you can go to the record store and visit your friends.”-Penny Lane, Almost Famous

About manchelster

I'm a recent college graduate trying to make my way in the world. I watch as much TV as a TV critic, except I don't get paid to write about it. Yet. View all posts by manchelster

One response to “The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.

Leave a Reply

