Moving to New York

I can’t believe in one week I will be back in Michigan. I can’t believe it, and I don’t want to believe it, so until I am off the plane and back on Mitten-ground, I refuse to believe it.

This summer has gone by far too quickly. I got here on May 15, and before I knew it, the month of June had come and gone. And then July happened way too fast. And now it’s August?! AUGUST?!! How did that happen? Summer flew by, and I want it back. I want to go back to May 15 and move into my dorm for the first time and see Times Square for the first time and walk around mid-town and L.E.S. and walk through crowds in China Town and get gelato in Little Italy and be overcome with the disgusting scent of trash and heat that I’ve grown oh so accustomed to.

These past few weeks have been a lot of fun. I don’t remember what I last wrote about, but I think it’s been about a month since I’ve blogged. In the past month I’ve been to the Siren Festival, New Amsterdam Market, Brooklyn Flea, Central Park Summer Stage (comedy), Central Park Summer Stage (music), Second City Theater, and so many other places.

Siren Festival was a free music festival on Coney Island, and it was a lot of fun (and also a lot of heat- there was a heat advisory that day but it did not stop anyone from having a blast). I saw Screaming Females, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, and Matt and Kim. It was awesome.

At Central Park Summer Stage I saw the Daily Show correspondents do some stand up, followed by Lewis Black. It was absolutely hilarious. I also saw a free concert there with Basia Bulat, TuNeYaRdS, and St. Vincent. All of them were incredible and so much fun and so adorable.

This past Friday I saw my first New York play (off broadway, but still fantastic). It was Trust, with Zach Braff and Sutton Foster. It. Was. Fantastic. And not just because I am unhealthily obsessed with Zach Braff, it was a really great play. It was very funny, a little twisted, a good amount of dark humor, and the music they used was great (it had Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Grizzly Bear songs!) After I ended up getting to meet Zach Braff which has probably become one of the best moments of this summer, if not my life. He was incredibly nice and down to earth and willing to sign autographs and write notes and take as many pictures as you wanted. It was fantastic.

Ah! I’ve done so much, and I feel like there is still so much to do! Leaving New York will definitely be a heartbreaking day, I’ll miss this summer so much. But I’m excited to get come home and see my friends and family and my dog. And I do miss East Lansing. But it just seems like the past 12 weeks have gone by so quickly, I just wish this last week would slow down so I can savor every last bit of New York living that I can get.

About manchelster

I'm a recent college graduate trying to make my way in the world. I watch as much TV as a TV critic, except I don't get paid to write about it. Yet. View all posts by manchelster

Leave a Reply

