Fairy Tale of New York

I can’t believe I have already been in New York a month. Time is seriously flying by, it seems like each week goes by faster than the last, and the weekends just zip on by also. This week/weekend has been exciting and tiring. Instead of having Friday off of work, I had Thursday off, and took that day to explore everything I wanted to see in Central Park. I ended up wandering around, constantly being lost, for about 3.5 hours. But! On the bright side, I did see everything on my list I wanted to see. I saw the carousal that Holden talks about in Catcher in the Rye, I saw the boathouse, multiple bridges, Strawberry Fields, the Imagine sign and where John Lennon lived/was also shot (sad face), the Belvedere Castle, the Jackie O. Reservoir, the Alice in Wonderland statue, the zoo! It took a long time but it was fun, I’m glad I got to see everything I wanted to see so now when I go back to Central Park I can just pick a spot to sit and read.

After wandering around the park all day, I came home for a little bit, then met up with some friends for dinner in the village and then we went to Park Slope for a Frontier Ruckus concert. The concert was at Southpaw, which is a pretty small bar/venue area, and it was mostly full of Michiganders because the band is from Michigan, and they went to MSU (wut up!) All of their lyrics are riddled with different Michigan references, its awesome. It was a really great show and a very fun night, except it ended much later than expected and I didn’t end up getting home until 2am and I had to wake up at 7:30 on Friday to go to work. Sooo, I was really tired at work, but it was well worth it.

Friday I worked until 6 and after went to Grand Central Station to try to catch a free Band of Horses concert, but of course by the time I got there it was full, so I hung around outside for a while trying to listen, but I couldn’t hear too well so I left. Huge bummer, I would have loved to see them. Then I met up with my friend and we walked around the East Village, hung out on the roof of her apartment, and went and got Peruvian food– it was verrrrry yummy.

Then Saturday came! I woke up at like 8:30 because I wanted to go buy $10 Beirut tickets, and they were only available at the box office, but of course when I got there at 9 no one was there, so I ended up heading out to Williamsburg and walking around there and sitting by the water for a while before getting back in the line for tickets and sitting outside in the scorching heat for 2 hours waiting for the box office to open. However, it was all worth it because my friends and I got $10 Beirut tickets for July 5 and I am super excited! After getting tickets we went to The Lodge for lunch and got really delicious sandwiches, and it was a really cool restaurant, it was all wooden and they used jars for glasses and I really dug it.

After lunch I met up with more friends and walked around Mid-town a little, picked up tickets to see Zach Braff in an off-broadway production of “Trust,” and I ended up buying 2 pairs of sunglasses for 10 bucks. I’m very happy about that because my sunglasses that I brought with me broke within my first couple weeks here :(. Walked around for a few hours and just enjoyed the weather. I also went to the New York Public Library and it was absolutely beautiful…and REALLLLLLY quiet. Like, creepy quiet. But they had some really nice architecture and rooms and stuff, so that was cool.

Today I went on an NYC Candy Tour and it was delicious! We went to like 6 or 7 different candy stops around the city and ended in Brooklyn. Each place was awesome and had something really cool to offer. It took about 3 hours and it was a lot of fun. Afterwords I went to Madame Tussauds, which is the wax museum, and it was a lot of fun. Besides kicking it with a bunch of wax celebrities, there was this really cool Spongebob Squarepants 4D film– which was 3D but it also enlightened other senses. The chairs shook, we got spritzed with water, there were bubbles, things brushed our feet– it was really cool. And startling. But mostly awesome.

Anyway. I can’t believe I only have another 7 weeks here. It seems like a lot, but I have a feeling time will keep moving faster. I’m having trouble wrapping my head around the fact that I’ll be home in less than 2 months and then I’ll be moving back to EL and starting my senior year of college. Oooh well.

ANYWAY. As always, I still really miss errybody. Hope everyone is enjoying their summer! Love and stuff!

About manchelster

I'm a recent college graduate trying to make my way in the world. I watch as much TV as a TV critic, except I don't get paid to write about it. Yet. View all posts by manchelster

One response to “Fairy Tale of New York

Leave a Reply

