Talkin’ New York

Oops. I guess I haven’t blogged in a while. My bad!

Since my last post, I’ve been to the Empire State Building, a few bars and a few restaurants, a few friends apartments, and many little shops. The Empire State Building was pretty sweet, just to go all the way to the top and look out at the city from that view was pretty amazing. Also, I got to think about Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks meeting at the top in “Sleepless in Seattle” and Chuck and Blair rekindling (and then rebreaking up) in the season finale of “Gossip Girl,” so that was cool.

Later that weekend I also went to Brooklyn for my first time and had a “Welcome to NYC” brunch at my friend Laura’s apartment. It was delicious and fun and I met a bunch of people from MSU/ U of M who have moved to New York in the past few years and who are just in NY for this summer for an internship like me.  Brooklyn was pretty cool, rather industrial looking. I want to go back and explore some more, I was in Bushwick and I want to go back and go to Williamsburg and Prospect Park and other places like that. I live right near the Williamsburg bridge so I think one night I’ll walk across, it’s supposed to be a spectacular view.

I made a list of things I want to do in NY and I’ll get to crossing them off. These things include different museums (The Met, Guggenheim, the museum of natural history, the wax museum), different touristy things (the carousel in Central Park and the zoo and stuff), the Serendipity restaurant from the John Cusack movie (“Serendipity”) and also! I found the crossroads of the house that was used for “The Royal Tenenbaums” so I’ll definitely have to go there.

Even though I’ve almost been here a month, everything here still seems so new to me. The walking and the street shopping and the culture, it’s just so much busier and livelier and more exciting than anything else I’ve ever experienced, and I love it!

Next weekend between watching world cup games I’m going to knock a museum or two off my list and definitely do some more sight seeing and Central Park wandering! I’ve got so much to see and only 2 more months left. Eep!

I hope everyone is having a fantastic summer. I wish my other friends abroad would blog more (AHEM, Fima, Mindy, Trista!!!!!!)

Time to get some rest before cheering on the USA tomorrow!!! Wooooo! (I love FIFA!) G’night!

About manchelster

I'm a recent college graduate trying to make my way in the world. I watch as much TV as a TV critic, except I don't get paid to write about it. Yet. View all posts by manchelster

4 responses to “Talkin’ New York

  • Feemz

    IT’S COMING. (eventually)

  • Mindy Hu

    I WILL I WIIIILLLLLLL. Nothing exciting really happens until the weekend, haha.

    I MISSSS YOOOOUUUUU!!!!! ❤

  • Liz

    Hey, found your blog from Twitter. I went to Serendipity when I was in NYC a few weeks ago and it was pretty good. Be aware they have an $8 minimum per person … we didn’t know that so we were kind of scrambling to pick stuff. I had the frozen hot chocolate which I really liked but which my friend didn’t.

  • Meghan

    So not that I most definitely stalk your blog buttt I am so jealous and hope you are having a wonderful time!

    I don’t know if you know this about Serendipity, but they only take like 5 reservations a day and only if you are actually eating there…not just dessert and or frrrozen hot chocolate. So be prepared to spend an ungodly amount of time waiting, but it is SO worth it.

Leave a Reply

